Strasbourg Agreement Wipo

In accordance with Article 13 paragraph 1 paragraph b), the aforementioned agreement enters into force for the Kingdom of Belgium one year after the date of this notification, i.e. 4 July 1976. The Strasbourg Agreement defines the International Patent Classification (IBC), which divides the technology into eight sections, with about 70,000 subdivisions. Each subdivision is designated by a symbol composed of Arabic numerals and letters of the Latin alphabet. . The corresponding CPI symbols are shown on patent documents (published patent applications and patents granted), of which more than 2 million are issued each year. The corresponding symbols are awarded by the National or Regional Industrial Property Office, which publishes the patent document. For PCT applications, IPC symbols are awarded by the International Research Agency. Although only 62 states are parties to the agreement, the CPI is used by patent offices in more than 100 states, four regional offices and the WIPO secretariat in the management of the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) (1970). The agreement enters into force is scored separately when the required number of ratifications or accessions is reached. . The agreement – commonly referred to as the CPI Agreement – was concluded in 1971 and amended in 1979.

It is open to States Parties to the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property (1883). The instruments of ratification or accession are to be filed with the Director General of WIPO. The revision of the CPI will be carried out by the CPI expert committee established as part of the agreement. All States Parties to the Convention are members of the Expert Committee. – Iran, June 22, 1971; Brazil, June 28, 1971; Austria, 9 September 1971; Japan, September 13, 1971; France, September 20, 1971; Netherlands, 22 September 1971; Monaco, September 27, 1971. This agreement will enter into force on 7 March 2007 with regard to Turkmenistan. . – Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Germany (Federal Republic of Germany), Greece, Holy See, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States of America, Yugoslavia, 24 March 1971; The Director-General of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) extends his compliments to the Minister of Foreign Affairs and, in accordance with Article 16, paragraph 5, of the aforementioned international agreement, he is honoured to inform him that the Government of Ireland, referring to its accession instrument tabled on 19 April 1972, states that the following statement must be understood as part of that act. : The Director-General of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) congratulates the Minister of Foreign Affairs and has the honour of notifying him, on 7 March 2006, of the application of the accession instrument to the Strasbourg Convention on the International Patent Classification of 24 March 1971, as amended on 28 September.

, 1979. The Director-General of WIPO recalls that all signatures have been made subject to ratification. In addition, at the time of the signing, the Spanish Government stated that it intended to make use of the right under Article 4, paragraph 4, of the agreement. The Strasbourg agreement created a Union with an assembly. Every MEMBER state of the Union is a member of the Assembly. One of the Assembly`s most important tasks is the adoption of the biennial programme and the EU budget. « Ireland states, in accordance with Article 4, paragraph 4, point (i), that it does not undertake to include symbols for classification groups or subgroups in the notifications covered in paragraph 3, which are made available to the public only in the corresponding notices. »